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IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA 

ORDER NO. 1370 

Amending Alaska Rule of Professional 
Conduct 1.4 concerning communication. 

IT IS ORDERED that Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 1.4 is amended to read as follows: 

Rule 1.4 Communication. 

* * * * 

( c) A lawyer shall inform an existing client in writing if 

the lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least $100,000 

per claim and $300,000 annual aggregate and shall inform the client 

in writing at any time the lawyer's malpractice insurance drops 

·below these amounts or the lawyer's malpractice insurance is 

terminated. A lawyer shall maintain a record of these disclosures for 

six years from the termination of the client's representation. 

ALASKA COMMENT 

Subsection (c) does not apply to lawyers m government 

practice or lawyers employed as in-house counsel. 

Lawyers may use the following language m making the 

disclosures required by this rule: 

(1) no insurance: "Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 



Supreme Court Order No. 1370 
Effective Date: April 15, 2000 
Page 2 

l.4(c) requires that you, as the client, be informed in \\>riting if a 

lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least $100,000 per 

claim and $300,000 annual aggregate and if, at any time, a lawyer's 

malpractice insurance drops below these amounts or a lawyer's 

malpractice insurance coverage is terminated. You are therefore 

advised that (name of attorney or firm) does not have malpractice 

insurance coverage of at least $100,000 per claim and $300,000 

annual aggregate." 

• (2) insurance below amounts: "Alaska Rule of 

Professional Conduct l.4(c) requires that you, as the client, be 

informed in \\>riting if a lawyer does not have malpractice insurance 

of at least $100,000 per claim and $300,000 annual aggregate and if, 

at any time, a lawyer's malpractice insurance drops below these 

amounts or a lawyer's malpractice insurance coverage is terminated. 

You are therefore advised that (name of attorney or· firm)'s 

malpractice insurance has dropped below at least $100,000 per claim 

and $300,000 annual aggregate." 

(3) insurance terminated: "Alaska Rule of Professional 

• Conduct 1.4( c) requires that you, as the client, be informed in \\>riting 

if a lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least $100,000 

per claim and $300,000 annual aggregate and if, at any time, a 
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lawyer's malpractice insurance drops below these amounts or a 

lawyer's malpractice insurance coverage is terminated. You are 

therefore advised that (name of attorney or firm)'s malpractice 

insurance has been terminated." 

COMMENT 

* * * * 

-~---DATED: September 2. 1999 
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