Trial Courts Information
Alaska Court System business hours are Monday - Thursday,
8:00 am - 4:30 pm and Friday, 8:00 am - 12 noon.
Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Palmer courts have expanded hours for specific cases.
Court offices are closed on all state-observed holidays.
Prohibited Items - items that will not be allowed in court buildings.
|First District||Second District||Third District||Fourth District|
View the venue map to see the judicial district boundaries.
Marriage license application and instructions are available on the Vital Statistics website.
Under Alaska Statute 25.05.261(a)(2) 1, anyone can perform your marriage ceremony, including a friend or relative, if they first obtain a marriage commissioner appointment from an Alaskan court as authorized by AS 25.05.081.2 The person should be 18 years of age or older, and does not need to be a resident of Alaska or the United States in order to perform the ceremony.
Contact (by phone, by mail or fax, or in person) the court nearest to where the wedding will be performed. The online court system directory has a complete listing of court locations and contact information. You may also contact the office which handles requests for marriage commissioner appointments in the judicial district of the court nearest to where the wedding will be performed. See Alaska courts listed by judicial district to determine the district. Procedures vary by judicial district; there is no online application form.
First Judicial District Contact the court nearest to where the wedding will be performed:
Prince of Wales
Second Judicial District Contact the court nearest to where the wedding will be performed:
Third Judicial District Anchorage Trial Courts
Customer Service Division
825 West 4th Ave.
Anchorage, AK 99501-2004
FAX (907) 264-0610
Fourth Judicial District Fairbanks Trial Courts
Court Services Department
101 Lacey Street
Fairbanks, AK 99701
FAX (907) 452-9330
- The court will need the following information:
- The full name of the intended marriage commissioner, including middle name.
- The address of the intended marriage commissioner.
- The full names of the couple to be married, including middle name.
- The month, day and year marriage is to occur.
- The town or physical location where the marriage ceremony will be performed.
- In the First Judicial District the intended marriage commissioner must also provide his or her date of birth.
- In the Fourth Judicial District the marriage license must accompany the marriage commissioner application.
- There is a $25 fee for processing a marriage commissioner appointment application.
- There is no waiting period for this appointment. However, in the Fourth Judicial District, applications should be submitted at least one week before the wedding.
- The court will issue a written order appointing the marriage commissioner together with instructions. The marriage commissioner is responsible for ensuring that the marriage is performed in compliance with the law and that the marriage certificate is filed with the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
- The marriage should not be performed until the marriage commissioner has a copy of the written order in hand.
- If the marriage is not performed on the date stated in the order, a new marriage commissioner appointment order must be obtained.
IMPORTANT REMINDER: It is the responsibility of the couple to be married to apply for and pick up a marriage license. A marriage commissioner does not have the authority to obtain the marriage license for the couple.
1 Sec. 25.05.261. Who may solemnize.
(a) Marriages may be solemnized
(1) by a minister, priest, or rabbi of any church or congregation in the state, or by a commissioned officer of the Salvation Army, or by the principal officer or elder of recognized churches or congregations that traditionally do not have regular ministers, priests, or rabbis, anywhere within the state;
(2) by a marriage commissioner or judicial officer of the state anywhere within the jurisdiction of the commissioner or officer; or
(3) before or in any religious organization or congregation according to the established ritual or form commonly practiced in the organization or congregation.
(b) This section may not be construed to waive the requirements for obtaining a marriage license.
2 Sec. 25.05.081. Marriage commissioners.
The presiding judge in each judicial district may, if the public interest requires, appoint one or more suitable persons as marriage commissioners. The presiding judge shall describe the marriage commissioner's area of jurisdiction in the order of appointment. A marriage commissioner may, within that jurisdiction, solemnize marriages in the same manner as a district judge or magistrate judge and may exercise any power, other than the power to issue marriage licenses, necessarily incident to the duties of a marriage commissioner. The clerk of court shall issue to the marriage commissioner a certified copy of the order of appointment and send a copy of it to the bureau.
All marriage ceremony scripts must meet the minimum requirements of AS 25.05.301 as listed below:
25.05.301 Form of solemnization
In the solemnization of marriage no particular form is required except that the parties shall assent or declare in the presence of each other and the person solemnizing the marriage and in the presence of at least two competent witnesses that they take each other to be husband and wife. A competent witness for this purpose is a person of sound mind capable of understanding the seriousness of the ceremony. At the time of the ceremony, the person solemnizing the marriage shall complete the certification on the original marriage certificate. The person solemnizing the marriage and the two attending witnesses shall sign the original marriage certificate and the necessary copies.
Sample Marriage Ceremony Scripts - You may use your own script or other marriage ceremony scripts may be obtained by searching the internet.
NOTE: All marriage ceremony scripts must meet the minimum requirements of AS 25.05.301.
Requests for copies of case files should be submitted to the records department or clerk of court where the case was filed. You may submit your request in person or by mail to the court. Anchorage, Fairbanks, and courts in the First Judicial District accept requests by email. Email requests for copies are not accepted at other court locations. Please use one of the request forms listed below.
- Requests for copies of case files for Saint Paul Island should be directed to the Seward court.
- Requests for copies of case files for Sand Point should be directed to the Homer court.
A complete list of Alaska Court System contact information is available on our website.
Most court files are available for public inspection. Files in some proceedings, such as juvenile matters, are confidential and only parties to the case are allowed access to the file.
Copies: The first document (or part) requested is $5.00, then each additional document requested at that time is copied at $2.00 each.
Certified copies: $10.00 for the first certified copy and $2 for each additional certified copy of the same document, requested at the same time.
Exemplified/Authenticated copies: $15.00 for each exemplified copy of a document.
Research: $30.00 per hour.
A deposit may be required on some copy requests.
Submit requests for audio recordings in person or by mail to the clerk of court where the hearing was held. Please use one of the request forms listed below, and be sure to include $20.00 payment per CD.
- Requests for copies of audio recordings for Saint Paul Island should be directed to the Seward court.
- Requests for copies of audio recordings for Sand Point should be directed to the Homer court.
A complete list of Alaska Court System contact information is available on our website.
Recent Filings & Case Dispositions
NOTE: If you are not able to access any of the reports listed below, please contact the HelpDesk for assistance.
|Recent Filings & Case Dispositions||Description|
|Adult Change of Name Cases Filed *||Lists adult change of name cases filed in the prior month|
|Adult Change of Name Cases Granted *||Lists adult change of name cases granted in the prior month|
|Criminal Cases Filed (updated daily at 9:00 p.m.)||Lists criminal cases filed in the past seven days|
|Criminal Dispositions *||Lists criminal cases closed in the prior month and the current month-to-date|
|Divorces and Dissolutions Granted *||Lists divorces and dissolutions granted in the prior month|
|Estate Cases Filed *||Lists estate cases filed in the prior month|
|Forcible Entry and Detainer Cases Filed *||Lists forcible entry and detainer cases filed in the prior month|
* updated weekly on Monday
Programs & Services
The public administrator administers the estates of deceased persons when administration is required by law and no one else applies to be the administrator within 30 days after the date of death. AS 22.20.410 -- .440. The public administrator is a judicial officer or court employee appointed by the presiding judge of each judicial district. The public administrators in each judicial district are:
District - Amanda Schulz, Ketchikan, 907-225-3195
(including Yakutat, Skagway, Haines, Hoonah, Petersburg, Kake, Wrangell, Prince of Wales)
District - Robert Lewis, Nome, 907-443-5216
(including Selawik, Unalakleet)
District - Carol McAllen, Anchorage, 907-264-0415
(including Glennallen, Palmer, Kenai, Homer, Seward, Cordova, Valdez, Dillingham, Naknek, Kodiak, Unalaska)
District - Brian Fisher, Nenana, 907-832-5430
(including Ft. Yukon, Galena, Tanana, Delta Junction, Nenana, Healy, Tok, McGrath, St. Marys, Emmonak, Hooper Bay, Chevak, Bethel, Aniak)
The court maintains attorney addresses in CourtView using the "business" address on file with the Alaska Bar Association. This is the address that courts use when distributing notices, orders and judgments. If there is no business address on file with the Bar, CourtView will reflect "Address not provided" in the address field.
Whenever an attorney’s business address changes, it is important that the attorney immediately submit an Address Change Form with the Bar Association. This form is available on the Bar’s website: https://www.alaskabar.org/ Attorney addresses in CourtView are updated weekly from a file received from the Alaska Bar Association.
Attorneys must also give notice of the change of address to other parties by filing and serving a notice of change of address in each case in which the attorney appears as required by Civil Rule 5(i).
Filing fees are set forth in Administrative Rule 9, Fee Schedule.
Pattern Jury Instructions
Attention: These instructions are NOT for persons who have been summoned for trial or grand jury service.
Pattern jury instructions are used by the trial judge to instruct members of the jury on the law applicable in the case before them. Lawyers may also use pattern jury instructions as they prepare for trial to ensure they address all the elements of their case.
The Alaska Civil Pattern Jury Instructions and Alaska Criminal Pattern Jury Instructions are available online on the Court's website. The Alaska Civil Pattern Jury Instructions are also available in print at the Anchorage, Fairbanks, and Juneau Alaska State Court Law Libraries. These instructions have not been approved or promulgated by any court or the Alaska Bar Association.
Transcripts and Transcribers
The Alaska Court System has an open solicitation (ACS-NOS-17-005 577 KB) for qualified responders to be added to the list of transcribers contracted with the court.
Solicitation responses may be submitted to the Alaska Court System Purchasing Department at any time but must be received by Monday, February 13, 2017 at 2:00p.m. AKST (Alaska Standard Time) to be included in the initial list of contractors.
Any questions referring to the solicitation process should be directed to the Purchasing Department, contact information provided below. Any questions referring to the transcript process should be directed to Transcript Coordinator, Irma Hernandez, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Alaska Court System - Purchasing Department
820 West 4th Avenue
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
ATTN: Jesse Head - Procurement Specialist II
Manual of Transcript Procedures (TF-410) 374 KB
Court proceedings are recorded using CourtSmart and FTR software. CourtSmart recordings include the software required for playback and transcription. For FTR recordings, visit the FTR website and select "Downloads" to get a free copy of FTR Player Plus. Free registration required.
NOTE: The court system does not provide transcription services to the general public. Audio recordings are available through the Clerk's Office at the court location where the hearing took place.
Trial Court Publications
Administrative Appeals - Instructions for Administrative Agencies is an addendum to the Alaska Court System Appeals Manual which outlines the procedures administrative agencies should follow in the event of an appeal of its decision.
Matters Under Advisement
Under Alaska law, a pay check may not be issued to a trial court judge until the judge has filed an affidavit affirming that no matter referred to the judge has been uncompleted or undecided for more than six months. AS 22.10.190(b) & AS 22.15.220(c). This provision is known as "the six-month rule.” The following "rules” or protocols are used to determine when a matter is under advisement and subject to the six-month rule. These protocols were adopted by the presiding trial court judges in 2002 to provide direction to the programmers who were developing management reports for the new trial court case management system (CourtView).
When a Trial Court Matter is Under
and Subject to the Six-Month Rule
(A) Motions. A motion is under advisement and subject to the six-month rule after the last of the following events:
- (i) a reply has been filed or the final deadline for filing a reply has passed without a reply being filed;
- (ii) any oral argument or hearing on the motion has been held; and
- (iii) any supplemental briefing requested by the court has been filed. If the judge schedules oral argument or a hearing after the filing of supplemental briefing, the six-month rule begins to run after that oral argument or hearing has been held.
(B) Decisions Following Trial. When a matter is taken under advisement following trial, the six-month rule begins to run on the last day of trial. If the judge requests supplemental briefing following trial, the six-month rule begins to run after that briefing has been filed and any oral argument or hearing has been held.
(C) Satisfaction of Six-Month Rule. The six-month rule is satisfied when an order or judgment is signed, or, in the case of an oral order, when the judicial officer enters the order on the electronic record. The six-month rule is satisfied for a master when the master signs the report.
(D) Reassignments and Stays. If a case is reassigned to a judge in the same court location, the six-month rule re-starts at day one for all pending matters on the effective date of the reassignment order. If a case is reassigned to a judge in another court, the six-month rule re-starts at day one when that judge receives a copy of the case file from the original judge. If a case is stayed, the six-month rule re-starts at day one on the effective date of the order lifting the stay.