
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA 

ORDER NO. 1966 

 

Amending Bar Rule 3 to change 
the application deadlines for the 
Alaska Bar Examination; 
amending Bar Rules 28(g) and 
30(e) to change the publication 
requirements for public notices for 
discipline and transfers to 
disability inactive status. 
 

 
IT IS ORDERED: 
 
1. Bar Rule 3 is amended to read as follows:   
 

Rule 3.  Applications. 

* * * * 

Section 3. An application shall be filed not later than May 1 for 

the July bar examination and not later than December 1 for the 

February bar examination. In the event that an application is filed 

late, an additional late filing fee of $25 shall be paid if filed not 

later than fourteen days after the last day for filing a timely 

application, and a late filing fee of $100 shall be paid if filed 

thereafter; provided, however, no application shall be accepted 

for late filing unless such application is filed at the office of the 

Alaska Bar Association not later than June 15 for the July bar 

examination and January 15 for the February bar examination. 

The Executive Director may, for good cause, accept applications 

for late filing after the May 1 and December 1 June 15 and 

January 15 deadlines. A total late filing fee of $125.00 shall be 

paid for applications accepted after May 1 and December 1June 

15 and January 15. 
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* * * * 

Section 6. An applicant who has failed to pass a bar 

examination required by Rule 2 may reapply for admission to 

take a subsequent bar examination.  

Reapplications shall be made by filing a reapplication form as 

required by the Board by December 1 January 15 for the 

February bar examination and by May 31 June 15 for the next 

July bar examination following failure of the most recent 

February exam.  

Applicants for reexamination shall be required to pay the 

reapplication fee fixed by the Board. An applicant who does not 

comply with this Section must reapply pursuant to Sections 1 

through 5 of this Rule. 

2. Bar Rule 28(g) is amended to read as follows:   

Rule 28.  Action Necessary When Attorney is Disciplined. 

* * * * 

(g) Public Notice. The Board will cause a notice of the 

disbarment, suspension, interim suspension, probation, public 

censure, or public reprimand to be published in  

(1) a newspaper of general circulation in Anchorage, Fairbanks, 

and Juneau;  

(1)(2) an official Alaska Bar Association publication and on the 

Alaska Bar Association’s website; and  

(2)(3) a newspaper of general circulation serving the community 

in which the disciplined attorney maintained his or her practice. 

* * * * 
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3. Bar Rule 30(e) is amended to read as follows:   

Rule 30.  Procedure: Disabled, Incapacitated or Incompetent 
Attorney. 

* * * * 

(e) Notice to Public of Transfer to Disability Inactive Status. 

The Board will cause a notice of transfer to disability inactive 

status, whether imposed after hearing or on an interim basis, to 

be published in  

(1) a newspaper of general circulation in the cities of Anchorage, 

Fairbanks, and Juneau, Alaska;  

(1)(2) an official Alaska Bar Association publication and on the 

Alaska Bar Association’s website; and  

(2)(3) a newspaper of general circulation primarily serving the 

community in which the disabled attorney maintained his or her 

practice.  

When the disability or incapacity is removed and the attorney 

has been restored to active status, the Board will cause a notice 

of transfer to active status to be similarly published. 

* * * * 
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DATED: April 7, 2021  
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: August 2, 2021 
 
 
 
 
 /s/  
 Chief Justice Bolger 
 
  
 /s/  
 Justice Winfree 
 
 
 /s/  
 Justice Maassen 
 
 
 /s/  
 Justice Carney 
 
 
 /s/  
 Justice Borghesan 
 

 


