## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

## ORDER NO. 1370

Amending Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 1.4 concerning communication.

IT IS ORDERED that Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 1.4 is amended to read as follows:

Rule 1.4 Communication.

\* \* \* \*

(c) A lawyer shall inform an existing client in writing if the lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least \$100,000 per claim and \$300,000 annual aggregate and shall inform the client in writing at any time the lawyer's malpractice insurance drops below these amounts or the lawyer's malpractice insurance is terminated. A lawyer shall maintain a record of these disclosures for six years from the termination of the client's representation.

## ALASKA COMMENT

Subsection (c) does not apply to lawyers in government practice or lawyers employed as in-house counsel.

Lawyers may use the following language in making the disclosures required by this rule:

(1) no insurance: "Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct

Supreme Court Order No. <u>1370</u> Effective Date: <u>April 15, 2000</u> Page 2

1.4(c) requires that you, as the client, be informed in writing if a lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least \$100,000 per claim and \$300,000 annual aggregate and if, at any time, a lawyer's malpractice insurance drops below these amounts or a lawyer's malpractice insurance coverage is terminated. You are therefore advised that (name of attorney or firm) does not have malpractice insurance coverage of at least \$100,000 per claim and \$300,000 annual aggregate."

(2) insurance below amounts: "Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 1.4(c) requires that you, as the client, be informed in writing if a lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least \$100,000 per claim and \$300,000 annual aggregate and if, at any time, a lawyer's malpractice insurance drops below these amounts or a lawyer's malpractice insurance coverage is terminated. You are therefore advised that (name of attorney or firm)'s malpractice insurance has dropped below at least \$100,000 per claim and \$300,000 annual aggregate."

(3) insurance terminated: "Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 1.4(c) requires that you, as the client, be informed in writing if a lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least \$100,000 per claim and \$300,000 annual aggregate and if, at any time, a

Supreme Court Order No. \_\_\_\_1370 Effective Date: April 15, 2000 Page 3

> lawyer's malpractice insurance drops below these amounts or a lawyer's malpractice insurance coverage is terminated. You are therefore advised that (name of attorney or firm)'s malpractice insurance has been terminated."

## **COMMENT**

DATED: \_\_\_\_September 2, 1999 EFFECTIVE DATE: \_\_\_\_April 15, 2000

MARCO

Chief Justice Matthews

Justice Eastaugh

Justice Fabe

Justice Bryner

Walter L. Cargenet